Daily Verse and Meditation 03.07.21

The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
He makes me lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside still waters.
He restores my soul.
He leads me in paths of righteousness
for his name’s sake.

Psalms 23:1-3

The Lord is a shepherd who cares for His sheep, His people (Isaiah 53:6). Now, it may seem like a bad thing to be a sheep, but it’s really not. A sheep is an animal that obeys and follows their shepherd, and the shepherd is charged with caring for his flock. As these first verses tell us, God is the true shepherd (1 Peter 5:4), and He will care for us as long as we listen and obey.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.
You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies;
you anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.

Psalms 23:4-5

If we put our trust in God, He will deliver us from evil and be with us. He will send His servants to care for us.

And I will give you shepherds after my own heart, who will feed you with knowledge and understanding.

Jeremiah 3:15

They will teach us all God has to say through His Word so that we become unified in the faith and in understanding.

And he gave the apostles, the prophets, the evangelists, the shepherds and teachers, to equip the saints for the work of ministry, for building up the body of Christ, until we all attain to the unity of the faith and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to mature manhood, to the measure of the stature of the fullness of Christ, so that we may no longer be children, tossed to and fro by the waves and carried about by every wind of doctrine, by human cunning, by craftiness in deceitful schemes.

Ephesians 4:11-14

We should do our best to listen and understand God’s Word from those who teach it.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
all the days of my life,
and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD
forever.

Psalms 23:6

Amen.

If you want to know more about what it means to be a sheep, read this post.

Peace.

Author: TeacherinKorea

I'm a teacher in South Korea.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started