Daily Verse and Meditation 02.14.21

Google images

Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

1 Corinthians 13:4-7

Today is Valentine’s Day, and many people profess their love for one another. Married couples, dating couples, and people who are wanting to start dating, all kinds of people need to feel loved and love someone. Love is able to heal, to make peace, and to give warmth to others. Love is a key part of any relationship, whether it’s family, friends, or significant others, without love there is no lasting relationship.

But what is the source of love? Where does it come from?

In the Bible, it says that God is love (1 John 4:6). We love others because He first loved us (1 John 4:19). God’s love for us is shown through Christ Jesus. Jesus came to preach God’s Word and lead those who believed to salvation and eternal life. Doesn’t that sound great? But it came at a cost. Jesus loved us so much that he laid down his life on the cross and bore the sins of the world.

In John 15:13, Jesus says that there is no greater love than laying down one’s life for their friends. Jesus was able to show us God’s love by atoning for sin and allowing us to become God’s children once again. Praise God! Amen!

But how do we show our love for God and Jesus?

We do that by keeping their commands. Jesus told us to be humble, to be peace makers, to believe in him. As the opening verses say, if we truly love God and Jesus, we will work to develop those qualities (kindness, patience, humility, etc) and obey what they have instructed.

If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing.

1 Corinthians 13:1-3

Paul says that without love, we have nothing. We can know many worldly things and spiritual things, but without love, we are unable to keep Jesus’s and God’s commands.

What is God’s command?

In John 6:29, Jesus says that God’s command (His will) is to believe in the one He sent… that is, Jesus. Furthermore, Jesus has commanded us to love others and to evangelize them (to “bear fruit”).

This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.

You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit and that your fruit should abide, so that whatever you ask the Father in my name, he may give it to you. These things I command you, so that you will love one another.

John 15:12-13, 16-17

I hope and pray you can love God and Jesus enough to understand their words, believe in them, and share [their words] with others.

If you want to read a fantastic post about loving God, go here.

Let us learn to love one another as God and Christ have loved us.

Peace

Author: TeacherinKorea

I'm a teacher in South Korea.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started